Copyright © All rights reserved. Created By Mike Gannon Terms of use | Privacy policy

Sen. Hutchison Applauds Agreement on Caddo Land and Water Rights Transfers

April 20, 2012

WASHINGTON –Today, U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) issued the following statement on the news that an agreement had been reached on Caddo land and water rights transfers: "During the last six months, I’ve worked very hard to bring together the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the Army on finalizing a land and water rights transfer to the Caddo Lake National Wildlife Refuge. Today, I’m pleased to announce that the groups have reached a responsible long-term agreement, which will enhance one of the natural treasures of our state and our nation.

Harrison County Judge Hugh Taylor and Commissioner Jeff Thompson, as well as Representative Louis Gohmert, provided great assistance in securing this important outcome for Caddo Lake."  Please click here to read entire statement.


Government Approach Being Modernized

“Heritage areas not only preserve our vibrant culture and rich history, they spur economic growth in communities across the country,” said Rep. Charlie Dent. “Throughout my home state of Pennsylvania, these public-private-partnerships are recognized as significant contributors to local and regional economic development. Modernizing the heritage area system and enhancing its efficiency will help ensure the long-term viability of these important economic drivers.”

Click here to see recent congressional policy memo.


Historic Church Named Most Endangered


The Union Missionary Baptist Church in Jefferson is one of nine sites that Preservation Texas, Inc. has named to its ninth annual list of Texas’ Most Endangered Historic Places.


Click here to see a recent press release.



See NPS Flat Hat Chat
video about what NHAs
are and are not

Link to Preservation Texas site to learn more about the Texas’ Most Endangered Listing

Link to ANHA web site to find out more about NHAs

Sewell’s Canal (1831)                           Last Steamboat, Jefferson (1903)       George Murata (1909)